Bistro Soori

Bistro Soori
Bistro Soori
Lovely seating
Lovely seating
Lovely looking bar
Lovely looking bar


Great little gem.  I would give it a B, minimal looking place, nice decor very cosy and great service.  A bit hard to find but a great place for lunch.  Upon arrival we were greeting with a welcome cocktail.  Boozy, fruity cold and refreshing.

Interesting looking cocktail
Interesting looking cocktail

They offer quite alot of choices for a set lunch.  I like that, usually you get a 2 – 3 choice in most lunch sets, there’s quite a variety to suit every picky eater.

Yummy looking food!
Yummy looking food!
So many choices!
So many choices!

Complimentary:  Mushroom espresso

I liked the creamy mushroomy goodness.  Too bad it was an espresso cup i could have devoured a bowl!

YUMMY!
YUMMY!

I mopped up the soup with the warm hearty bread, i loved the garliky, herby butter.

Good bread n butter
Good bread n butter

 

Starter:  Pan seared scallops, Truffle Vinaigrette, Pistachio Pesto & Arugula

I admit it was beautifully presented and looked too good for words. A pair of decent sized scallops came perfectly seared, alas, it appeared that the scallops were soaked in brine either to plump up or some weird cooking technique i’m not aware of but it made the scallops unbearably salty.  I liked the pesto, bitterish, nutty it was a good contrast i’m just so sad it was salty.

Beautiful, Beautiful....
Beautiful, Beautiful….

 

A bit too salty...
A bit too salty…

 

Main Course:  16 hour braised US short rib, creamy polenta, mushroom and spinach.   Melt in the mouth, rich and delicious.  I would have preferred a thicker gravy since polenta is rather delicate in nature and maybe something crunchy for a different texture.  I like bittery foods, so the spinach was a great addition.  I would liked more of it but surprisingly the dish was rather fillling.

Wholesome & Hearty
Wholesome & Hearty

My Friends Main Course: Pan roasted striploin, sunchoke, greens, tomatoes, sherry vinegar.

Looks beautiful and i'm sure tasted excellent
Looks beautiful and i’m sure tasted excellent

It was the same dish on the cover of the menu!  I really need to come back to taste this dish.  It looks so so so yummy, smelt delicious, beautifully seared, and plump looking tomatoes.  I love love the presentation.

Desserts: Mine was a Vanilla Panna Cotta, Morello Cheeries with Brandy and Cornflakes, and my friend had the banana loaf, caramelized banana, and vanilla ice cream.  My friend said his dessert was perfect, mine was over powered by the sourness of the cherries.  It was so sharp that i couldn’t finish my dessert.  The panna cotta was yummy but too bad the topping killed it.   I liked the crunchy of the cornflakes, and the coffee was excellent.  I liked the luxury of 2 types of sugar, i felt that it was attention to detail.  It was 39.90 per person for lunch.  It’s a luxury lunch but in singapore i thought it was reasonable.

Looks delish!
Looks delish!
Too sour!
Too sour!
I take my coffee black but the sugars looked too nice!
I take my coffee black but the sugars looked too nice!
Leave a Reply

